Employers often violate regulations requiring them to pay employees for the work they have done. These types of violations are called wage and hour violations. These occur when an employee does work for the employer and is not paid sufficiently for the work done. These violations often occur when an employee is working overtime
but the employer refuses to pay them the extra money that the law requires.
In Missouri the minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, though there are some jobs in which employers can pay less. One example of such an exemption is servers at restaurants, who can be paid less since they will likely receive tips from the patrons they serve.
In Missouri, employers are required to pay overtime to an employee if the employee is contracted to work by the hour and works more than 40 hours in a week. As an employee, you cannot waive the right to be paid overtime and any employer that asks you to do so is breaking the law.
If you think that your boss has not paid you as much as you are owed, it is important to talk to an employment lawyer to determine whether your employer is violating the law. Most of the time, an employer will ignore you if you try to argue with them so it may be necessary to file a wage complaint. You need to consult an experienced attorney to help you with this complaint.
The attorneys at Page Law will help you get the compensation you deserve from your employer. We will consult with you for free to determine if you have a claim and will fight to protect your rights. Call them today at 314-322-8515.